Home Featured Races now set for city office elections

Races now set for city office elections

The deadline for candidates to file to run for city offices in November’s General Election was yesterday at 4 p.m. 

Ballot positioning will be determined by random drawing, scheduled for tomorrow (Thursday, June 9) at 2 p.m. The drawing for Columbia will be held in Adair County Clerk Lisa Greer’s office while Russell Springs’ and Jamestown’s ballot-spot drawing will be held in the second floor courtroom of the old Russell County courthouse. Candidates (as well as the general public) are invited but not required to attend the drawing(s).

One position is now determined, with only a sole candidate to file. Russell Springs Mayor Eddie Thomas will earn another term, with yesterday’s deadline passing without a challenger filing to run. With all races now set, the candidates for Columbia, Jamestown, and Russell Springs are below:

Columbia Mayor

Pamela Hoots*

Curtis Hardwick

Columbia City Council

Ronald (Butch) Rogers*

Sharon Lorene Payne*

Robert Flowers*

Charles Grimsley

Craig Dean*

Linda Waggener*

Mark D. Harris*

Natalie Marcum

Mike Robertson

Hannah Peck

Rhonda Bennett Loy

Jamestown Mayor

Richard Bennett

Regena Hinton*

Jamestown City Council

William Murray*

Terry Robertson*

Tony H. Wright*

Barry Coffey*

Ada Lawson*

Dwight W. Richards

Mitchell Marcum*

Jared Roy

Russell Springs City Council

Larry “Gene” Brown

Ricky Barnes*

David C. Blakey*

Timmy Hudson*

Tommy Holt*

Cody L. Wilson

Johnny Bell

Sherry Bottom Daniel*

*Indicates incumbent

Downey Eye Clinic
Previous articleNOTE TO SELF: We live in a world of ghosts
Next articleIt’s National (not this) Duck Day
Wes Feese is one of this company's owners and founders. He has previously worked as an editor, news reporter, sportswriter, photographer, and freelance contributor for newspapers across central Kentucky. He grew up in the Egypt community of Adair County and is a graduate of Adair County High School and Lindsey Wilson College.